TPMS issue - Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums
 
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums > C5 Corvette Forums > C5 Corvette - General Discussion
Register Forums Garage Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Notices

C5 Corvette - General Discussion General | Technical | Performance | Aftermarket | Discussions

Other sections:
Corvettes Classifieds
Corvette Detailing & Car Care
Corvette Audio/Video/Radar
General Automotive/Shop/Tools
Corvette Performance Driving/Racing

Shops/Tuners
Custom Image Corvettes
A&A Corvette
Corvette tuner

Interior
Corvette aftermarket products

Insurance

Parts & Products
Race Ramps
Edelbrock
ATI/Procharger
Corvetteguys.com
Melrose Motorsports
Parts Taxi
Airaid
Mid America Motorworks
Pfadt Racing
Madvette Motorsports
Hi-tech Custom Concepts
Corvette aftermarket products
Corvette Garage
Corvette Parts and Accessories
Corvette Car Care Products
Corvette HID
Mid America Motoroworks

Tracks/Schools
Bob Bondurant School of High Performance Driving
Corvette driving school

Wheels/Tires
Cray Wheels

Services
BADWERKS.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 04:22 PM   #1
kap142
DC Crew
 
kap142's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Member #119801
Member since: Sep 2012
Location: Auburndale, FL

My Corvette(s)
2003 Z06

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TPMS issue

Just spent a good deal of time reading of other TPMS problems. Many of a (kinda) similar nature either by mfg of the TPMS or the results.

With a request for forgiveness if this is all redundant here goes.

About 6 months ago I replaced the factory wheels on my 03 Z06 with OEM 2004 ZR1 factory wheels. I choose to add the TPMS units and have the computer flashed. I used sensors made by Orange Electronics. I have the local Chebby dealership do the installs and flash the computer and awaken the sensors. Thay did so and all the system functioned just fine on all four wheels, untill a couple of days ago.

For the first time I had the oppurtunity to take my Z up state and run some higher speeds. Again at this point in time all TPMS units are showing a very nice 30PSI per wheel.

While traveling a back road I was able to speed up to the 120 mark a couple of times. Just speed up and slow down, no standing starts or serious brakeing.

A few minutes later I look down and see the "serv tire mon. system" message. I scroll through the DIC and both rear sensors show xxx (front both read normally, at the moment).
A short time later after clearing the first message it pops up again but now all four sensors are showing the dreaded xxx.

Tires were checked and all are fine on air pressure.

Vehicle shows no codes and the sensors do not re-learn (they wont make the horn beep as learned even with the round GM magnet used as per procedure.)

I talked to Company I purchased the sensors from and they verified that they are correct for my Vette but have no instant answers.

Tomorrow I will find a place with an A-Tech or Bar Tech scanner to check if they are trying to function and then go from there.

My question is why the total failure over a short time and of course why? Any ideas guys?
kap142 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2013, 07:15 AM   #2
Junkman2008
DC Pit Crew Boss
 
Junkman2008's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,244
Member #71977
Member since: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY

My Corvette(s)
2001 Navy Blue Metallic Coupe

Thanks: 170
Thanked 539 Times in 424 Posts
Garage
What is an A-Tech and a Bar Tech scanner?
Junkman2008 is online now   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
"Marines - Making the other guy die for his country for over 200 years."
Old 01-18-2013, 07:46 AM   #3
kap142
DC Crew
 
kap142's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Member #119801
Member since: Sep 2012
Location: Auburndale, FL

My Corvette(s)
2003 Z06

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Morning Junkman.

Orange Electronics tells me they are insturments that read if the TPMS sensors are individually sending signals to the on board computer. Honestly I have no idea as I have never dealt with either before.
kap142 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 08:10 AM   #4
Fly03Z06
 
Posts: 3,264
Member #68577
Member since: Dec 2007
Location: Crashed and Burned

Thanks: 84
Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
...............just my .02

I also installed the TPMS on my Z06, mainly due to long roadtrips on HRE wheels. I do not use runflats and have 3 sets of tires on various wheels that all have the OEM sensors installed. When I switch, I only use a magnet to relearn positions. I have never had a problem loosing signal at speed with the OEM sensors.

Are these Orange sensors banded to the inside of wheel or same as OEM with shrader valve stem? ...........When I first researched to add the TPMS to the Z, back in 03-04 there was a manufacturer having problems with the banded sensors spinning on the wheel and loosing signal.

Hope you get it solved
Fly03Z06 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 08:49 AM   #5
kap142
DC Crew
 
kap142's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Member #119801
Member since: Sep 2012
Location: Auburndale, FL

My Corvette(s)
2003 Z06

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the response Fly. I don't use run flats either. Sensors are original placement Shraders and are not banded.

Just got back from a tire shop who used a tech device and said none of the four TPMS sensors are sending signals. His susipicion is that on the few high speed bursts (ya know the ones that make you smile a lot?) that the sensors came a bit loose and disintigrated.?.

Guess I'll contact Orange again and see what they have to say. They seem more then willing to help resolve the issue.

Last edited by kap142; 01-18-2013 at 08:49 AM. Reason: spellin
kap142 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 03:47 PM   #6
kap142
DC Crew
 
kap142's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Member #119801
Member since: Sep 2012
Location: Auburndale, FL

My Corvette(s)
2003 Z06

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Latest update. Had a Mcgee Tire tech use a Bartech on each sensor. No reading from any. He tried the reset, relearn and nodda. Finally put the entire system on a Solus Pro scanner plugged into the data port under the column and 4 codes popped upC2100, C2105, C2110 and C2115 which read LF tpm sensor fault, ditto RF, RR and LR.

Have I left any variables available other then concluding that the sensors did indeed each fail?
kap142 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2013, 08:16 PM   #7
Junkman2008
DC Pit Crew Boss
 
Junkman2008's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,244
Member #71977
Member since: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY

My Corvette(s)
2001 Navy Blue Metallic Coupe

Thanks: 170
Thanked 539 Times in 424 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kap142 View Post
Latest update. Had a Mcgee Tire tech use a Bartech on each sensor. No reading from any. He tried the reset, relearn and nodda. Finally put the entire system on a Solus Pro scanner plugged into the data port under the column and 4 codes popped upC2100, C2105, C2110 and C2115 which read LF tpm sensor fault, ditto RF, RR and LR.

Have I left any variables available other then concluding that the sensors did indeed each fail?
If they did bite the dust, they are shit for quality. That's why I only run OEM sensors in my ride. I've had my Vette up to 160 Mph with no issues and I do THIS every year, multiple times.

Junkman2008 is online now   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
"Marines - Making the other guy die for his country for over 200 years."
Old 01-19-2013, 05:48 AM   #8
kap142
DC Crew
 
kap142's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Member #119801
Member since: Sep 2012
Location: Auburndale, FL

My Corvette(s)
2003 Z06

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Junk, I agree. Gonna call um today (if they're open on Sat.) and ask for a refund. I know they are guaranteed so maybe that will work out OK.

I am going to go to GM sensors, period. Sensors failing at speed is just BS.

Gonna go do a search on the net for failures of Orange Electronics sensors. Gonna see what I can find.

Thanks guys.
kap142 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2013, 10:55 AM   #9
Junkman2008
DC Pit Crew Boss
 
Junkman2008's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,244
Member #71977
Member since: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY

My Corvette(s)
2001 Navy Blue Metallic Coupe

Thanks: 170
Thanked 539 Times in 424 Posts
Garage
Do you realize that you are the second person this week to have issues with that brand? Look at this thread.
Junkman2008 is online now   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
"Marines - Making the other guy die for his country for over 200 years."
Old 01-20-2013, 01:33 PM   #10
kap142
DC Crew
 
kap142's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Member #119801
Member since: Sep 2012
Location: Auburndale, FL

My Corvette(s)
2003 Z06

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Junk. I'm going back to GM parts.
kap142 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2013, 04:32 PM   #11
Junkman2008
DC Pit Crew Boss
 
Junkman2008's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,244
Member #71977
Member since: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY

My Corvette(s)
2001 Navy Blue Metallic Coupe

Thanks: 170
Thanked 539 Times in 424 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kap142 View Post
Thanks Junk. I'm going back to GM parts.
Smart man.
Junkman2008 is online now   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
"Marines - Making the other guy die for his country for over 200 years."
Old 01-21-2013, 12:16 PM   #12
gmjunkie
DC Crew
 
gmjunkie's Avatar
 
Posts: 480
Member #33628
Member since: Apr 2005
Location: Old Fort NC/Vero Beach Fl/Lewistown MO

My Corvette(s)
69 300/350/3sp,78 L82 Cp.,81 Red Auto Cp., 01 ZO6 Black,03 Z51 6Sp. Cp.

Thanks: 69
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
I thinks the sensors are Crap!~!!

I've not had much trouble with wheel sensors yet,But mine are 10 years old and I know it's anytime!

I'll get mine from GM!
gmjunkie is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
junk!!"Let your plans be murky and confused in daylight, and when you move, fall like a wet turd." - Sonny Toefoo
Old 01-21-2013, 03:04 PM   #13
Choreo
DC Crew
 
Choreo's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,194
Member #56229
Member since: Jan 2007
Location: Midland, Texas

My Corvette(s)
2001 Coupe

Thanks: 10
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
High speed would not put any more stress on a wheel sensor - they would be under maximum shear stress during rapid acceleration from a standing start. Unless maybe you were traveling over a really high vibration surface at high speed that set up a harmonic issue. At no point are they in tension - they are always in compression against the rim.

Since they failed in "pairs" front and then rear - that is a bit coincidental.

I would start by replacing with OEM.
Choreo is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 09:01 PM   #14
kap142
DC Crew
 
kap142's Avatar
 
Posts: 25
Member #119801
Member since: Sep 2012
Location: Auburndale, FL

My Corvette(s)
2003 Z06

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmjunkie View Post
I thinks the sensors are Crap!~!!

I've not had much trouble with wheel sensors yet,But mine are 10 years old and I know it's anytime!

I'll get mine from GM!

Thanks Junkie, As long as no one has experience making me believe that the problem is with the computer then I will press on.

I spoke to Driven Parts who supplied the Orange Electronics sensors and they said the sensors are under warranty to which I said why would I want those again, so they can break down again? They are looking at a free upgrade to an as yet un-named other mfg sensor, we shall see.

Just a wierd question though. GM doesn't make their own sensors I'm sure. Some one else sub contracts for them wouldn't ya think?
kap142 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2013, 09:14 PM   #15
Junkman2008
DC Pit Crew Boss
 
Junkman2008's Avatar
 
Posts: 25,244
Member #71977
Member since: Apr 2008
Location: Louisville, KY

My Corvette(s)
2001 Navy Blue Metallic Coupe

Thanks: 170
Thanked 539 Times in 424 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kap142 View Post
... Just a wierd question though. GM doesn't make their own sensors I'm sure. Some one else sub contracts for them wouldn't ya think?
AC Delco, Standard Motor Parts, Airtex/Wells? Who knows but I know this. They sell them at your GM dealership. Why would you want to take a chance and go down this road again with an unknown brand?
Junkman2008 is online now   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
"Marines - Making the other guy die for his country for over 200 years."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (12 CHARACTERS MAXIMUM), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:26 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
2003-2011, DigitalCorvettes.com - All Rights Reserved