Ammeter issue - Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums
 
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums > C3 Corvette Forums > C3 Corvette
Register Forums Garage Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Notices

C3 Corvette
C3 Corvette General | Technical | Performance | Aftermarket | Discussions

Other sections:
Corvettes Classifieds
Corvette Detailing & Car Care
Corvette Audio/Video/Radar
General Automotive/Shop/Tools
Corvette Performance Driving/Racing

( Sponsored by: Zip Corvette Parts )

Shops/Tuners
Custom Image Corvettes
A&A Corvette
Corvette tuner

Interior
Corvette aftermarket products

Insurance

Parts & Products
Race Ramps
Edelbrock
ATI/Procharger
Corvetteguys.com
Melrose Motorsports
Parts Taxi
Airaid
Mid America Motorworks
Pfadt Racing
Madvette Motorsports
Hi-tech Custom Concepts
Corvette aftermarket products
Corvette Garage
Corvette Parts and Accessories
Corvette Car Care Products
Corvette HID
Mid America Motoroworks

Tracks/Schools
Bob Bondurant School of High Performance Driving
Corvette driving school

Wheels/Tires
Cray Wheels

Services
BADWERKS.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2013, 06:32 PM   #1
Torchred73
DC Crew
 
Posts: 29
Member #46648
Member since: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX. USA

My Corvette(s)
73 Stingray

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ammeter issue

Hey guys, its been a loooong time since i posted here last, but have enjoyed reading many of the posts on a regular basis.
I am having an issue with the Ammeter Gauge on the 73. Up untill now it has worked as it should and driving this morning it was still good. I let the car sit, parked in the garage over lunch and then decided to go out again. When I turned the key to the accessory position, the gauges came to life in their usual manner, including the ammeter. However, when I started the car, the ammeter gauge flipped all the way to the +40 and after 4-5 seconds began to fill with smoke!! I immediately shut her down and disconnected the battery. Did a cursory check and found no shorts or fried wires so decided to try again. Same thing, good in "ACC" but smokes in "RUN".
So my question is: Did some gremlin creep into my car during a lunch break or is this indicitive of a gauge heading south?
Torchred73 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-24-2013, 06:43 PM   #2
slofut
DC Crew
 
slofut's Avatar
 
Posts: 527
Member #119762
Member since: Sep 2012
Location: Home of grits and gnats, Moultrie, Ga.

My Corvette(s)
1971 base conv

Thanks: 89
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torchred73 View Post
Hey guys, its been a loooong time since i posted here last, but have enjoyed reading many of the posts on a regular basis.
I am having an issue with the Ammeter Gauge on the 73. Up untill now it has worked as it should and driving this morning it was still good. I let the car sit, parked in the garage over lunch and then decided to go out again. When I turned the key to the accessory position, the gauges came to life in their usual manner, including the ammeter. However, when I started the car, the ammeter gauge flipped all the way to the +40 and after 4-5 seconds began to fill with smoke!! I immediately shut her down and disconnected the battery. Did a cursory check and found no shorts or fried wires so decided to try again. Same thing, good in "ACC" but smokes in "RUN".
So my question is: Did some gremlin creep into my car during a lunch break or is this indicitive of a gauge heading south?
Maybe the starter or start circuit is seeking ground thru the ammeter. Have you done anything under the hood lately? Or in the dash? Others more familiar should chime in soon.
slofut is online now   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2013, 09:02 PM   #3
Richard454
DC Crew
 
Richard454's Avatar
 
Posts: 606
Member #43340
Member since: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA

My Corvette(s)
71 V12 restomod vert (Plan A) 73 L82 4 speed (Plan B)

Thanks: 6
Thanked 59 Times in 50 Posts
I'm thinking the shunt in the Ammeter is flowing all the current...check the conditions of the connections at the horn relay.

The shunt is basically there to turn away or rather make the current- follow a different path. Sounds like the path is now open and causing all the power to go through the Ammeter...

One of the many reasons I'm having my ammeter converted to a voltmeter...which GM changed to in 77...

Richard
Richard454 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (12 CHARACTERS MAXIMUM), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
2003-2011, DigitalCorvettes.com - All Rights Reserved