Resetting your C5 Corvette's PCM - Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums
 
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums > C5 Corvette Forums > C5 Corvette - Technical | Performance | Aftermarket
Register Forums Garage Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance

Notices

C5 Corvette - Technical | Performance | Aftermarket Technical | Performance | Aftermarket | Discussions

Shops/Tuners
Custom Image Corvettes
A&A Corvette
Corvette tuner

Interior
Corvette aftermarket products

Insurance

Parts & Products
Race Ramps
Edelbrock
ATI/Procharger
Corvetteguys.com
Melrose Motorsports
Parts Taxi
Airaid
Mid America Motorworks
Pfadt Racing
Madvette Motorsports
Hi-tech Custom Concepts
Corvette aftermarket products
Corvette Garage
Corvette Parts and Accessories
Corvette Car Care Products
Corvette HID
Mid America Motoroworks

Tracks/Schools
Bob Bondurant School of High Performance Driving
Corvette driving school

Wheels/Tires
Cray Wheels

Services
BADWERKS.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2005, 10:41 PM   #1
moore_rb
DC Crew
 
moore_rb's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,464
Member #1975
Member since: Aug 2003
Location: In the EtherWeb

My Corvette(s)
No Corvette Anymore

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Resetting your C5 Corvette's PCM

The procedure below sets your car's PCM back to it's default fuel trim and timing settings, and sets WOT enrichment back to the high octane table if your car has dropped into the low octane table.....

1) Turn key on (leave engine off)
2) Pull fuses #16 and #23 from the fuse box in front of the battery
3) Turn key off
4) Put fuses back

The car will be defaulted back to it's initial startup, idle, part throttle cruise, and WOT fuel and timing settings.
moore_rb is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
The reason some people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory....
-Paul Fix.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2005, 01:30 PM   #2
KaosC5
DC Crew
 
KaosC5's Avatar
 
Posts: 74
Member #33417
Member since: Apr 2005
Location: Studio city, CA

My Corvette(s)
2005 Mag Red, black/aluminum Coupe. #11 off the assembly line!

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Why is this resetting done? I've been experiencing a loss of power at 85,000 miles. I've installed new plugs with the correct gap as well as new wires and tensioner with belts. Would resetting my PCM have any advantages or disadvantages in my vehicle?
KaosC5 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2005, 01:37 PM   #3
The_Phoenix
DC Crew
 
The_Phoenix's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,565
Member #20308
Member since: Oct 2004
Location: Palm Harbor, FL

My Corvette(s)
1999 6-Speed

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was wondering the same thing, mainly because I just did this for the heck of it a while back and it actually seemed to make my car slower untill 100% throttle. It really screams then, but otherwise it seems a bit slower. Could very well be my imagination though.
The_Phoenix is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Sounds like fun...
Old 10-24-2005, 06:04 PM   #4
moore_rb
DC Crew
 
moore_rb's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,464
Member #1975
Member since: Aug 2003
Location: In the EtherWeb

My Corvette(s)
No Corvette Anymore

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Most guys do this procedure to make sure that their car is running in the high octane tables after running poor gas, or to help their car re-learn it's idle settings after installing a Cold Air Intake......


It isn't a necessary thing. Your car will learn to adjust to new parts just fine. This procedure just accelerates that process a little bit.
moore_rb is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
The reason some people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory....
-Paul Fix.
Old 10-24-2005, 07:06 PM   #5
ssrogers
DC Crew
 
ssrogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,512
Member #9828
Member since: Mar 2004
Location: Pulaski, TN, USA

My Corvette(s)
'08 Black Z51 6spd

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm just posting so I can find this when I get my C5 in a few years.

fuel table reset
ssrogers is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-24-2005, 07:22 PM   #6
aziztop
DC Crew
 
aziztop's Avatar
 
Posts: 133
Member #31521
Member since: Mar 2005
Location: kuwait

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
4) Replace fuses ,,,,What do you mean,change them for good or swap them
aziztop is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Old 10-25-2005, 01:15 AM   #7
ssrogers
DC Crew
 
ssrogers's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,512
Member #9828
Member since: Mar 2004
Location: Pulaski, TN, USA

My Corvette(s)
'08 Black Z51 6spd

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
just put them back in

he doesn't mean replace, as in get new ones, he just means plug them back in.
ssrogers is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2005, 07:40 AM   #8
T.M.
DC Crew
 
T.M.'s Avatar
 
Posts: 12,650
Member #1158
Member since: Jun 2003
Location: Honolulu-Hawaii

My Corvette(s)
Slammed 02 6 speed with some mods

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks for posting this Rob,it's good info not many know about.I do this at the track.

It works for me,when i'm in the low tables,my scanner will show 18 - 20* timing at WOT,reset PCM,timing is 28* across the rpms.
T.M. is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
06 6 speed manual. Z51 . Lemans blue/white stripes. Kooks longtubes / xpipe / Corsa /... Vararam. Electric water pump... Monster clutch.. Customs tunes.. 2 1/2 in h drop and dark ass tint
Old 11-01-2005, 09:01 PM   #9
VLVETTE
DC Crew
 
VLVETTE's Avatar
 
Posts: 36
Member #10261
Member since: Mar 2004
Location: El Cajon,Ca., USA

My Corvette(s)
2004 coupe

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a custom tune LS1 edit on a dyno. Would this procedure negate it and set my PCM back to stock? If this is the case if my battery were to go dead could I lose the custom tune?
VLVETTE is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2005, 10:41 PM   #10
moore_rb
DC Crew
 
moore_rb's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,464
Member #1975
Member since: Aug 2003
Location: In the EtherWeb

My Corvette(s)
No Corvette Anymore

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by VLVETTE
I have a custom tune LS1 edit on a dyno. Would this procedure negate it and set my PCM back to stock? If this is the case if my battery were to go dead could I lose the custom tune?
Nope. Any custom LS1Edit data is saved in your PCM. It can't be erased by the fuse pulling procedure I outlined above, or by draining the battery. A dead battery will put your car back to default just like pulling the fuses does, however....

My car has a non-stock tune that I did with LS1Edit, and I reset my PCM several times a year, for various reasons.... The custom stuff I tuned in is never affected.
moore_rb is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
The reason some people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory....
-Paul Fix.
Old 11-08-2005, 08:40 PM   #11
JayGood
DC Crew
 
JayGood's Avatar
 
Posts: 201
Member #12954
Member since: May 2004
Location: Norman, Oklahoma

My Corvette(s)
2000 Millinium Yellow

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What is the benefit of doing this?
JayGood is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
4th Annual NCCO All Corvette Show-June 11, 2011
Download flyer here---> http://www.nonclubclub.com/files/2011.pdf
Old 11-08-2005, 09:44 PM   #12
moore_rb
DC Crew
 
moore_rb's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,464
Member #1975
Member since: Aug 2003
Location: In the EtherWeb

My Corvette(s)
No Corvette Anymore

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by JayGood
What is the benefit of doing this?
Putting your car back into the high octane table if it has dropped into the low table, and setting your car up to re-learn it's idle settings after doing intake mods.....
moore_rb is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
The reason some people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory....
-Paul Fix.
Old 12-11-2005, 09:39 PM   #13
Panther
DC Crew
 
Panther's Avatar
 
Posts: 373
Member #31832
Member since: Mar 2005
Location: Marayong/NSW/Australia

My Corvette(s)
92 ZO7 + 99 convertable

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks, nifty bit of info
Panther is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Kim
Old 12-11-2005, 09:57 PM   #14
zemzabob
I have no title.
 
zemzabob's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,505
Member #32713
Member since: Apr 2005
Location: Richmond/KY/USA

My Corvette(s)
98 C5 BLACK

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is there a way to tell if the car is in low octane table?
Or should I just go ahead and do it anyway?
Also how often should this been done?


zemzabob is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2005, 08:20 PM   #15
zemzabob
I have no title.
 
zemzabob's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,505
Member #32713
Member since: Apr 2005
Location: Richmond/KY/USA

My Corvette(s)
98 C5 BLACK

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Never mind just found another post that answered my ?

Thanks Robert


zemzabob is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (12 CHARACTERS MAXIMUM), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:05 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
2003-2011, DigitalCorvettes.com - All Rights Reserved