Have you done an LS swap? lets talk im on the fence. - Page 8 - Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums
 
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums > C4 Corvette Forums > C4 Corvette
Register Forums Garage Garage Mark Forums Read Auto EscrowInsurance Advertise

Notices

C4 Corvette General | Technical | Performance | Aftermarket | Discussions

Other sections:
Corvettes Classifieds
Corvette Detailing & Car Care
Corvette Audio/Video/Radar
General Automotive/Shop/Tools
Corvette Performance Driving/Racing

Shops/Tuners
Custom Image Corvettes
A&A Corvette
Corvette tuner

Interior
Corvette aftermarket products

Insurance



Parts & Products
Race Ramps
Edelbrock
ATI/Procharger
Corvetteguys.com
Melrose Motorsports
Parts Taxi
Airaid
Pfadt Racing
Madvette Motorsports
Hi-tech Custom Concepts
Corvette Garage
Corvette Parts and Accessories
Corvette Car Care Products
Corvette HID

Tracks/Schools
Bob Bondurant School of High Performance Driving
Corvette driving school

Wheels/Tires
Cray Wheels

Services
BADWERKS.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2011, 08:16 AM   #106
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffvette View Post
If you value your motor (especially if you race with it) throw the powerbond away and get an ATI.
Why? it was recommended by a lot of people. Have you had a bad experience? .My car is not a race car.
ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-11-2011, 04:02 PM   #107
Jeffvette
DC Crew
 
Jeffvette's Avatar
 
Posts: 518
Member #9110
Member since: Feb 2004
Location: Battle Ground, WA

My Corvette(s)
1990 ZR-1 & 1985 POS & 1991 Coupe racecar

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Why? it was recommended by a lot of people. Have you had a bad experience? .My car is not a race car.
It has no actual harmonics dampening. Several people have lost timing chains as the result of those styles of balancers.
Jeffvette is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2011, 04:20 PM   #108
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffvette View Post
It has no actual harmonics dampening. Several people have lost timing chains as the result of those styles of balancers.
From what I understand neither does the Fbody stock balancer and the vette balancer is balanced after assembly. So if i buy a stock vette balancer it wont be balnced either. So am I better off with stock? $400 for a balancer it outrageous.
ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-11-2011, 05:07 PM   #109
Jeffvette
DC Crew
 
Jeffvette's Avatar
 
Posts: 518
Member #9110
Member since: Feb 2004
Location: Battle Ground, WA

My Corvette(s)
1990 ZR-1 & 1985 POS & 1991 Coupe racecar

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
From what I understand neither does the Fbody stock balancer and the vette balancer is balanced after assembly. So if i buy a stock vette balancer it wont be balnced either. So am I better off with stock? $400 for a balancer it outrageous.

It has nothing to due with the "balance" and all to do with the vibrations from the motor.

A stock F-body or Vette balancer is fine, as is the ATI.
Jeffvette is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 08:16 PM   #110
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok, I have been waiting on pulley and pin kit all this time. They came in yesterday.
Today I pinned the balancer. I hope to have the engine back in for good within the next few days.
BTW If anyone need a balancer installer and pin kit I have them for sale.



ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-19-2011, 08:46 AM   #111
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A little more progress, yesterday I put the pan on. Now its ready to drop in.
Also received the Temp sender.

This is an older style sender machined to fit the LS1. This one will go in the Pass head and provide a signal to my temp gauge. The LS1 sender in the drivers side head will feed the ECM.

ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2011, 09:20 PM   #112
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I worked on the TPI harness today. Here is what I did. I deleted the what is marked with an X and labeled everything else accordingly. I was very surprised when I pulled what I though was a bulkhead to find a pass through. Now I'm wondering whether I should follow the wires in the dash and take them out of their respective connectors or just leave them where they are.





ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2011, 06:58 AM   #113
Kubs
DC Crew
 
Kubs's Avatar
 
Posts: 515
Member #60035
Member since: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, Oh

My Corvette(s)
1990 Z51 6 Speed

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
It took me forever to remove the wires from that bulkhead. Once you get the housing apart all the wires are set in some sort of hardened resin. Its a pain to get all the wires out.
Kubs is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2011, 08:21 AM   #114
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kubs View Post
It took me forever to remove the wires from that bulkhead. Once you get the housing apart all the wires are set in some sort of hardened resin. Its a pain to get all the wires out.
I was very surprised at how very few wires (sensors and such) actually went to the ECM.I think I'm Going to leave these where they are for now in case I need any of them.
ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2011, 02:00 PM   #115
Kubs
DC Crew
 
Kubs's Avatar
 
Posts: 515
Member #60035
Member since: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, Oh

My Corvette(s)
1990 Z51 6 Speed

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I was very surprised at how very few wires (sensors and such) actually went to the ECM.I think I'm Going to leave these where they are for now in case I need any of them.
I was too! I ended up with like 5-6 wires on each plug (if that) but followed them to the sensors and everything I could think of to make it run was there. Time will tell I guess!
Kubs is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2011, 10:12 AM   #116
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kubs View Post
I was too! I ended up with like 5-6 wires on each plug (if that) but followed them to the sensors and everything I could think of to make it run was there. Time will tell I guess!
I have decided to clean out that bulkhead and pull the wires under the dash. I will wind them up in case I need any of them later.
What did you do to get that crud out of there and what did you replace it with.
I am also rethinking my ECM placement if there is enough room under the dash I may route it inside insted of the stock location over the battery.
ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2011, 11:15 AM   #117
redmen031
DC Pit Crew Boss
 
redmen031's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,165
Member #11864
Member since: Apr 2004
Location: NY - Long Island

My Corvette(s)
84 Z51 red/red

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check out this thread, first post last picture. Looks like he mounted the ECM under the dash, I bet it would fit. Might have to rearrange some stuff under there but im sure you could make it work.

Will the wiring reach or will you have to extend all of the ECM wires?
redmen031 is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Mods: Ceasefire is no more...LS1 clone on the way! | 3.73 gears | Cross drilled-Slotted rotors | 18x10 out back & 17x9 up front | Headers | highflow CAT | 2.5" custom exhaust no mufflers

Check out my LS1 engine build thread HERE

SAVE THE WAVE
Pictures ------ More Pictures
Lots of donuts in the SNOW!!
Old 05-25-2011, 11:24 AM   #118
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redmen031 View Post
Check out this thread, first post last picture. Looks like he mounted the ECM under the dash, I bet it would fit. Might have to rearrange some stuff under there but im sure you could make it work.

Will the wiring reach or will you have to extend all of the ECM wires?
I have to extend them to get them in the stock location. I'm thinking If it will reach I will put it under the dash if it won't in the stock location.
I saw that picture but he had a corvette harness. I have a Camaro harness the ECM is on the Pass side.
ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2011, 11:33 AM   #119
Kubs
DC Crew
 
Kubs's Avatar
 
Posts: 515
Member #60035
Member since: May 2007
Location: Cleveland, Oh

My Corvette(s)
1990 Z51 6 Speed

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I have decided to clean out that bulkhead and pull the wires under the dash. I will wind them up in case I need any of them later.
What did you do to get that crud out of there and what did you replace it with.
I am also rethinking my ECM placement if there is enough room under the dash I may route it inside insted of the stock location over the battery.
Since mine is a race car I was just going to make a plate with a gommit in it to cover that hole. It may not look so goos in a street car though.

I too want to move the ECM to clean things up. Its a good idea.
Kubs is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2011, 08:06 PM   #120
[email protected]
DC Crew
 
ch@0s's Avatar
 
Posts: 204
Member #75572
Member since: Oct 2008

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So today I finally tackled the Wiring bulkhead. The plan was pull the wires I didn't need out of the bulkhead and drop them inside the car. Later when I redo the interior I was going to follow them inside and unpin. I had already cut the wires I dint need short to make the process easier.

I took the bulkhead apart separated the wires into keeping and deleting. I then started to pull the out of the wire separator that clips in the bulkhead. That's when I noticed allot of the wires had a twin. I remember thinking when I was cutting the wires I dint need out "why would all the sensor wires run inside when the ECM is in the engine compartment". I decided to get my meter out and ck them.

I learned a lesson today, I could have kept my TPI harness intact and maybe sold it. Out of the 50 or so wires in the bulkhead that come from the ECM 30 are pairs that run in from the ECM go about 5" then loop back out of the bulkhead back into the engine compartment. When I was done only 4 wires went into the engine compartment that I didn't need. I put heat shrink on the ends and tucked them in the harness.

Here is a picture of some of the wires that loop back. You can see the sticky crap they seal the bulkhead with about half way.
ch@0s is offline   Reply w/quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (12 CHARACTERS MAXIMUM), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
City / State / Country?
Where you live
What kind of Corvette(s) do you own?
This field is not required.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
2003-2011, DigitalCorvettes.com - All Rights Reserved