Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 69 corvette and it will never be a stock set up. I am customizing it but it has a 350 in it now with a soon to be 383. The radiator support was rusted out and the radiator a mess. I plan on going aluminum with electric fans but here lies the question. I keep seeing BB radiator or SB radiator support on the products description. What is the difference? Can I use a BB radiator set up for the 350 engine? A BB core support for a SB radiator? Any help would be great since I can not nail down the difference's or find info to explain it. Yes I am a noob but willing to learn. Thank you guys.

·
Registered
3,100 Posts
Setting the BB radiator in is not a deal. All you need for that is the rubber cushions the radiator mounts in. The problem is the hoses. BB hoses are bigger and the SB hose just won't go on the radiator without some "creative" engineering. Like having a shop install SB necks. Since you're looking at electric fans, I'd talk to DeWitt's. They have a fan/radiator setup that looks great and works even better. I know a couple of guys that have them in front of their 383's, never any heat problems.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Some of the changes from SB to BB are: There is a block off panel restricting the opening for an aluminum rad, the BB had a wider opening. Also the mounting system, SB alum. uses two lower pins and one upper center mount. BB and AC or auto SB used 4 corner mounting points with rubber pads.
DeWitts makes a BB size alum. rad with the small block two pin, center top mount set up.
If you had a good SB support, you could open it up to use the wider rad, but if you need to replace it any way, get the BB style and go with thw wider rad (assuming you had a SB alum. rad to start with).
I would guess that DeWitts also has the larger rads. with SB sized hose connections.

·
Registered
2,002 Posts