Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So its been a long time since I last posted. Oddly enough since then I have a bachelors in Mechanical Engineering so my options for car mods seems to be endless and also more expensive. Since I was younger, I always encouraged to do LED halos for my Tail lights and headlights. So within the past year I did my headlights exactly how 7t2vette did his in another thread (except mine are switchbacks for a blinker) and turned out wonderful!
Wheel Automotive tire Automotive lighting Hood Vehicle
Automotive lighting Amber Gold Material property Automotive tire

But now the tail lights.....

I have a 76 and the tail lights are designed much different than the ones in the other thread. I wanted to get new ones since my old ones were cracked and not so bright. (especially for the kids on their phones these days) So this post is for those guys that have the 76 design of the "sealed" tai lights that won't come apart. I went through some trial and error but figured out a way to get a whole new set of tail lights with halos for under 200 dollars!! I used acrylic and amazon LED halos that are all readily available, All you'll need to do is get acrylic glue and go to a UPS store (or similar) to have them laser cut the files I made. I took off the old lenses carefully prying with a screwdriver and a dremel. I took the metal rings off and used a torch to melt out all the old plastic stuck inside and was able to reuse them for my project. I was then left with these housings.

Bathroom sink Wood Circle Audio equipment Electronic device
Automotive lighting Fluid Tableware Cookware and bakeware Automotive wheel system