Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1. I just ordered my 2008 Corvette with the LS3. Is it necessary to wait for r&d and engineering to reconfigure aftermarket exhaust systems for this motor, or will they just be using the existing C6 systems?
2. What are people's suggestions for a system that is more aggressive than stock, but not obnoxious, with very little change over stock at 70mph? I have a series 40 flowmaster on my new silverado and I love it. Hedman headers, high flow cat, and Imco can on my 95 Suburban, too loud.

·
Registered
16,300 Posts
I understand you can get the Z06 exhaust with bypass on the 08 C6. That would save you considerable coin and a little weight over aftermarket exhaust.

:cheers:

·
Registered
65 Posts
1. I just ordered my 2008 Corvette with the LS3. Is it necessary to wait for r&d and engineering to reconfigure aftermarket exhaust systems for this motor, or will they just be using the existing C6 systems?
2. What are people's suggestions for a system that is more aggressive than stock, but not obnoxious, with very little change over stock at 70mph? I have a series 40 flowmaster on my new silverado and I love it. Hedman headers, high flow cat, and Imco can on my 95 Suburban, too loud.
I got my LS3 over the weekend and it is a M6 with the optional exhaust and Z51. It has a little rumble on the idle and startup but when you excellerate it sounds like a stock exhaust. I only has 25 miles on it currently so I have not floored it yet to here what it sounds like with the dampers open. It does not have the constant loud sound of the Borla that I had on my 05 which I found to be irritating.

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
Highly doubtful on both counts

What's highly doubtful? You can get the valved exhaust...from the factory on a non-Z06. That's an established fact. That's one of the reasons the 2008 has something like 36 more hp than your 07. Sorry...

·