Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to re-build my 1980ish motor to a 383 soon and since I have never done this before I'd thought I'd list all the parts I have picked out so you gurus can tell me if something is drastically wrong. I'm looking for around 500hp at the crank with a 10-11 compression ratio.

Stock block bored .030
Eagle stroker rotating assembly kit - Cast, -5cc flat top pistons (What do I do for seal, 1PC or 2PC? External/Internal balance?)
Dart Iron Eagle heads- 215cc Intake runners, 64cc combustion chambers, 2.05/1.06 valves, .69 max lift (Does this mean max cam lift, or max cam lift multiplied by the rocker arm ratio?)
Roller Retrofit lifters
Rocker arms (What ratio?)
Hydraulic roller cam (haven't picked yet, not sure)
RPM air gap intake
800cfm Carb
Other items - pushrods, pumps, pan, timing chain, etc.

I also read that I will need a cam button to hold the cam back. Will an aluminum timing cover hold well enough to do this?

·
Registered
218 Posts
I'm going to re-build my 1980ish motor to a 383 soon and since I have never done this before I'd thought I'd list all the parts I have picked out so you gurus can tell me if something is drastically wrong. I'm looking for around 500hp at the crank with a 10-11 compression ratio.

Stock block bored .030
Eagle stroker rotating assembly kit - Cast, -5cc flat top pistons (What do I do for seal, 1PC or 2PC? External/Internal balance?)
Dart Iron Eagle heads- 215cc Intake runners, 64cc combustion chambers, 2.05/1.06 valves, .69 max lift (Does this mean max cam lift, or max cam lift multiplied by the rocker arm ratio?)
Roller Retrofit lifters
RPM air gap intake
800cfm Carb

I also read that I will need a cam button to hold the cam back. Will an aluminum timing cover hold well enough to do this?

Here is what I will tell you.