Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys. My car is almost out of the shop and thank god for a very good friend I have a temporary ride. She has lent me her 1990 Mustang 5.0 and ive been driving it around for almost 2 months!!! holy crap!

well anyways I know a lot of you guys have had mustangs before so I thought I would ask you guys. I know its leaking oil. From what ive seen it drips from the engine every couple of seconds. Not a lot but a good size drop.

and the oil seems to be hitting parts of my exhaust and the leaking oil is reaching all the way down to the middle of the car. Looks like the oil is hiting the exhaust and is causing white smoke to appear. At first it is barely noticable but little by little its been more noticable. What could be causing the leak? thanks!

·
DC Crew
32,974 Posts
Sounds like valve covers. It will go down the bottom of the car due to the wind from driving.

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
how much should it cost me to have it replaced at a local shop? im thinking of taking it tomorrow since I don't work..

·
Registered
744 Posts
try to sung up the bolts on the valve covers, just a little. It sounds like the car sets alot so the gaskets may have dryed, then you start driveing it and the bolts loosen.

·
Registered
132 Posts
5.0 leak

had a '90 GT, leaked a tad from the valve covers. had 150k on it, sold it in 2000, ran into the guy who bought it last week, said he made it into a fake Cobra and it still leaks a little, but runs like new money!:partyon:

·
Registered
1,266 Posts