Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a long time novice enthusiast of the corvette c3's. I hope to soon join the elite group of owners, but wanted to see if anyone could offer some purchasing advice. I really like the 68-72 convertibles, and would like to know if there are significant pros/cons to look out for. Ex: Am I to assume that all the bugs were worked out by 1972 vs the 1968? I am not looking to spend a ton of money up front, as this would be a "work in progress" vehicle. Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions!

·
DC Crew
53,221 Posts
1968 - Received a completely redesigned exterior and interior. No longer called the "Sting Ray," and not yet called the "Stingray." Coupe featured a removable rear window and removable roof panels referred to as "T-Tops." Hidden headlights were vacuum operated. British Green was the top selling color choice chosen by 57 more buyers than the second place color choice, LeMans Blue. A new three-speed Turbo Hydra-Matic automatic transmission was introduced.

1969 - Now called the Stingray. First year for newly designed optional side-mounted exhausts. A 350ci engine was introduced. Wheel width was 8".

1970 - Fender flairs were increased. Front fender louvers were redesigned. Optional engine displacement was increased to 454ci. The LT1 350ci option utilized solid lifters and produced 370hp. A special purpose engine package, built around the LT1 engine, was designated RPO (ZR1).

1971 - Low lead fuels required the lowering of engine compression ratios. The LS6 454 engine option was rated at 425 HP.

1972 - Little external differences distinguished the '71 and '72 Corvettes. Beginning in 1972 horsepower would be measured as "net horsepower," whereas previously it had been measured in "gross horsepower." The exterior color choice of Pewter Silver was only offered in 1972.

1968: 28,566 Coupes: 9,936 Convts: 18,630