Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I just bought my first corvette last week. It is a 97 auto with 60k miles. Let me first start by saying I am no expert in this area and as far as I can tell the car is clean and the only mods are Corsa exaust and aftermarket air filter. Here is the problem I am having...

-Once the car gets do normal temp. I notice a slight jolt (hesitation or stutter) at low rpm. in fact the only time it does it is when i just barely hold down the gas. (either when letting off or just starting to accelerate.) Also sometimes while cruising at 40-60 with my foot off the gas the tac starts hopping from about 500rpm to 1000rpm back and forth. there is no check engine light or any error codes. I took it to the dealer and they plugged it in, found no errors and said there was nothing they could do. The problem is usually subtle, but i dont want it to turn into something worse. heres a couple other things I noticed that might be related in some way (or they could just be a bunch of other problems)

-The noise from the fuel pump behind the driver seat gets louder and softer when using other electrical components like windows, blinker etc.

-I had the service abs/traction control error which went away after i turned off the car.

-also i noticed it doesnt do this when parked only while driving.

The dealer put new plugs and wires in and as far as i know that is all they did to it. here is what my little brain can come up with...

1. Its electrical...the noise in the fuel pump being disturbed by other electrical accessories sounds like a bad ground which could be causing a misfire right?

2. If it were a misfire wouldnt i get an error code or something? plus wouldnt I get the same problem with the car in park? Maybe a transmission problem?

3. Maybe its normal...afterall this is my first vette.