Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey all.. how u vettes doin? .... :cheers:

so..i was cruising in my vette (94 LT1 Auto) with the Ac is on, suddenly the AC start blowing hot air istead of cold..!!!! i took it to the chevy dealer (GM) and shockenly they told me i need to change the following:

- Evaporater Core
- Condenser.
- Drier.
- Orfice Tube
- Cooling fan motor RHS
- Low pressure switch.

and it will cost $2000+ ..!!??:lookinup: .. is that even possible?? i really need a help here.. coz in couple of days i have to answer t him if to go with it or not.!!

Thanks

·
Registered
914 Posts
I am a GM tech and it sounds like a rip off to me. I would like to know why you need to replace all these parts at once? did you put radioactive freon in your AC?:crazy:

·
Registered
441 Posts
Last year mine was doing the same thing..I stopped by an "Ice Cold Air" franchise near me who I heard was honest (Ha Ha) and they came up with an estimate for $1600 bucks to replace much of what was on your list even though they could NOT pinpoint the leak(so they said).........I replaced the AC schrader valve where you put the 134A(freon) in to fill it ...then filled it with nearly 3 small cans of 134A(with leak sealer inside) and that was about 7 months ago, and my air is still working like new...........Now Im not assuming that you had the exact same issue as mine(sine ALL kinds of issues can go wrong in an Air conditioning system), but for the cost of a 3 dollar (VERY common to fail) AC shrader valve, and a few cans of 134A(with sealer) it may be worth a try.....and as far as the electric fans themselves.....see if their working by getting your car up to full operating temp, with the air on....if one is broken, it's pretty easy to install that yourself(if you wanted)........good luck with it.......Joe:thumbsup:

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #4