Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm a newbie hear and i've seen that there are a lot of overheating threads but i have another one. I just purchased a 1990 Corvette and i was driving around town tonight. Its about 90 degrees out and the engine temp jumped up to probably around 240-245. That was driving between 20-35. When I turn the air on, it jumps to 250 or just a tad below the 260 line. Any ideas on what could be wrong? Thanks for any suggestions

·
Registered
57 Posts
When you kick on the A/C, the fans should come on and bring the temp down. Your temp goes up? Are your fans turning on at all? With or without A/C?

·
Registered
914 Posts
Sounds like you need more air flow. Make sure both cooling fans are working " If your car has two " Check for junk blocking air flow through the condenser and radiator. Check air dam " If it's broken or center section is gone it will cause much higher temp at higher speed. And check to see if the thermostat is working correctly. My 1988 vette has a 180 stat hypertech chip that turns on the primary fan at 175 degrees and I installed a switch to turn on the secondary fan any time I want it on. I can cruise through town on a 90 plus degree day with the air on and never see more 215 degrees:thumbsup:

·
Registered
111 Posts
Sounds like you need more air flow. Make sure both cooling fans are working " If your car has two " Check for junk blocking air flow through the condenser and radiator. Check air dam " If it's broken or center section is gone it will cause much higher temp at higher speed. And check to see if the thermostat is working correctly. My 1988 vette has a 180 stat hypertech chip that turns on the primary fan at 175 degrees and I installed a switch to turn on the secondary fan any time I want it on. I can cruise through town on a 90 plus degree day with the air on and never see more 215 degrees:thumbsup:
:agree: