Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am getting strange noises from my front suspension (the rear I think is halfshaft splines needing lube) and need to know what the chances are that I have a leaf spring going.

I looked underneath and noticed that on the driver's side, there appears to be very minor (1 layer?) delamination. It looks like the fibers have torn and are peeling from the spring. There aren't many but I would assume once the fiberglass starts delaminating, it is going to continue.

I also notice a clean mark on the sway bar that would be consistent with it rubbing on the control arm but as much as I cycle the suspension, I cannot get the sway bar anywhere near the control arm.

Comments? Suggestions? I have put 10,000 miles on this car but have only had it a little under 2 months. I'm still learning the ins and outs of Corvettes.

Thanks,
Rad

·
DC PIT CREW BOSS
39,513 Posts
It is possible to have the spring come apart. Post up some pics and let us take a look at it. If it is the spring, you might consider a coil over set up. The suspension can do some strange things when compacted at speed and hitting a pot hole. It will move more than you can move it by hand

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It is possible to have the spring come apart. Post up some pics and let us take a look at it. If it is the spring, you might consider a coil over set up. The suspension can do some strange things when compacted at speed and hitting a pot hole. It will move more than you can move it by hand
If it is the spring, I am planning to do the pfadt coil-overs. I didn't get a chance to call but will be asking if I can get the front 2 now and then do the rears at a later time. The reason for that is that my warranty will probably pay for the coil-overs rather than having to pay for another spring.