Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to the "vette community" (bought my first C4 2 weeks ago so please be gentle with me:) Drove it back from Florida to the outer banks of NC with no problem whatsoever. Last night we took our manditory midnight cruise and noticed that everytime we hit 52 mph it started "sputtering" (REAL BAD). It has no problem from a full stop to 80/90+. Shifts, acceleration etc. Only happens at around 52 mph. Everything on her is stock (for now) and any suggestions / pointers would be appreciated.

m

·
resident conservative
1,039 Posts
Two things come to mind, one is the opti spark might be breaking up at that rpm and load, two could be the injectors them selfs could be going bad ,three is plug wires.
If you can get the engine scaned for any codes.
let us know what you find.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanx Guys!
Tomorrow I will have a trusted mechanic take a look see. It does appear to have the original plugs and wires still installed (only 58k on the odometer) If in fact if all you mentioned is found to be the culprit, do you have any opinion what to upgrade them to?
(may as well do that now eh?)

Thanx for the quick replies too!
m

·
Premium Member
11,627 Posts
Strange problem. Does'nt sound like plugs and wires, seems like they would give you a problem at any speed. Might be injectors.
If you need a trusted place to get them reconditioned, let me know. :)

·
El Teafive
10,489 Posts
xbroker said:
Thanx Guys!
Tomorrow I will have a trusted mechanic take a look see. It does appear to have the original plugs and wires still installed (only 58k on the odometer) If in fact if all you mentioned is found to be the culprit, do you have any opinion what to upgrade them to?
(may as well do that now eh?)

Thanx for the quick replies too!
m
I heard a lot of guys use Taylor Spiro Pro wire since they fit in the stock looms

·
Registered