Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I have inspected most of the 66's birdcage and the following photos are by far the more severe of the damage:

Hre's the front passenger side hinge pillar (lower)

Here's the driver's side:

How much work will be required to fix this right? The bottom rails seem to be in very good shape on both sides but the lower pillars... well, you see them. :lookinup: Do I need to cut and add metal? What's required here?

·
DC Crew
53,221 Posts
I'm no expert, but I would hit those areas with a media blaster to get all the surface rust away so you can really assess what the damage is. It's hard to see the welds or cracks behind the flaking rust.

Clearly that birdcage is trying to return to iron oxide...

·
Registered
525 Posts
I'm gonna agree with Pat on this one.

You need to blast the questionable areas to allow an accurate assessment of the degree of repair required.

There are a couple of companies that specialize in replacement sections of the metal components of the corvette frames and body cages. I have seen them at Carlisle but can't remember names at the moment.
If and when the names come to me, I will post again.

One of the down sides of getting old.
You suffer from CRAFT disease (Can't Remember A ****ing Thing)

:D :D

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well, I guess a trip to Harbor Freight Tools is in order. I'll get a portable sandblasting unit and about 50lbs of sand. Or should I use gleass beads or something else for this job?

·
DC Crew
53,221 Posts
Islander said:
Well, I guess a trip to Harbor Freight Tools is in order. I'll get a portable sandblasting unit and about 50lbs of sand. Or should I use gleass beads or something else for this job?