Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen (and ladies of course),

I am new to Corvettes. I have been a speed nut for years though. I recently picked up a 2000 Coupe with an automatic. The dealer said you can "light up the tires" with the traction control off. Guess what.. You can't...

He now says it "may" be able to. A local Chevy dealer can't/won't give an answer.

Is the motor down on power??

The million dollar question.. Should it be able to light them up?

Thanks in advance.

Vinnie

·
Registered
8,067 Posts
First of all WELCOME to Digital! I think you will enjoy any time spent here, there are many resorceful and some downright wackies that frequent this place. Go ahead and impose your personality on us!

Second, I don't know if there is a straight answer to your question.
My current car only has about 3500 miles on it. It WILL not light em from a dead stop, competitive driving or not. If I start to rolla a bit with the trans in 3, and then stand on it the tires make noise but will not smoke.
My son had an 00 coupe that had pistons and rings done at 12k. That car was insane, competitve or not, stand on it and the tires broke loose, freely.
My original C5 was a 98 coupe that I had use a Hypetech "tuner" on. With the hypertech AND a Blackwing air "filter" that car would spin the tires in competitve. That car was getting stronger just before I got rid of it to buy my new one.

How many miles on yours? What tires are on it?

Oh yeah, real important....all of the cars I have had or have had 3:15 rear end. What does yours have? If you have the 2:73, that may a problem.

Good Luck!
Jim

·
Registered
138 Posts
Welcome to the forum and hope your Vette is smoking the competition instead of the tires.