Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

My Corvette is finally finding her way home in 9 days! I'm terribly excited and can't wait... but will have to, seeing as I won't find my way home for another 26.

Anyway, I'm looking for a bit of help. I'm not an engine pro, and want advice from those who are.

The only thing wrong with my Vette ('69 350/350 4-Speed), aside from the hole in the gas-tank, is that it lacks a carb.

I'm trying to find a decent, cost effective replacement to slap on there to get her running some for the summer. I'm not overly concerned with performance (just so long as it's not going to hurt it) seeing as I leave for Ft. Knox for 4 months in August (lots of 4s in there). I just need something to get her running on a budget - after that, I'll be back and will need more help... :devil:

Any suggestions?

Thanks for looking! :D

·
Premium Member
5,157 Posts
Does your car have the stock intake manifold on it, or has it been changed?

The stock intake is cast iron, and the original equipment carb was a Rochester Quadrajet.

However, many owners later, the intake may have been changed to a wide variety of aftermarket aluminum intakes.

Assuming that the stock intake is in place, then you can run a Quadrajet, Holley Spreadbore, or a Carter.

The key here is to take a look at the intake, and it will help you determine what you need. The stock intake will have four holes - two small ones in the front, and two large ones in the back. If so, then you need a spreadbore carburetor.

If it has four holes of the same size (or a combination of one oval hole and two holes of the same size, or one big square opening), then you can use a "square bore" carburetor.