1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Banned
7,823 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
7,277 Posts
Yeah I saw this the other day ... some pretty sad and outrageous stories ...

·
Registered
1,858 Posts
There are some people who would steal from their own Grandmother :lookinup:

·
Banned
31,366 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,766 Posts
Haven't read the article, but this is not uncommon. Many localities need more emergency services than their tax base is willing to pay for. Politicians will cut funding to keep taxes low and get re-elected. Police, fire, and EMS are then left with no alternative to pay for fuel and equipment. Rather than cut off services, they bill those who are able to pay.

People demand more and more from the government, but underestimate the cost.

·
Registered
2,111 Posts
Okay, let me introduce another point of view to this discussion. First, let me begin by saying that I am a Chief Officer of a municipal fire department with 38 years of service (so far). While my department does not bill for services, and has no immediate plans to do so, many departments are in fact beginning this practice. Generally speaking, those departments that do follow this practice utilize third-party billing to insurance companies for recovery of costs associated with rescue and extrication services at motor vehicle accidents. It is becoming increasingly common in the fire service, and is nothing new. Here is the reasoning behind the practice: