Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would just like to say hello to all. I stumbled across this web site the other day and love it.

I am new to corvettes, after getting an 86 from my cousin I have been trying to read up as much as I can.

Just a few questions?
What kind of temperatures should my stock A/T 86 run and what causes the head lights to shake when you first turn them on?

·
Registered
2,341 Posts
Welcome to Digital Corvettes,
Im happy to be the first to welcome you.... ya we ARE great arn't we?! lol I dont know much about technical problems but if you need a good laugh... well I cant do that either.... anyways Welcome to our Community!

·
DC Crew
1,470 Posts
86insc said:
I would just like to say hello to all. I stumbled across this web site the other day and love it.

I am new to corvettes, after getting an 86 from my cousin I have been trying to read up as much as I can.

Just a few questions?
What kind of temperatures should my stock A/T 86 run and what causes the head lights to shake when you first turn them on?
My 88 runs about 179-190.

The lights to shake? I bet they are nervous because they stick out, and you keep pushing your 86 past 100!

Have Fun and Welcome!

·
DC Pit Crew
11,957 Posts
Re: Re: First post.............

welcome aboard :):cheers:

·
DC Crew
53,220 Posts
What do you mean "shake" ? A little more detail.... do they shake when the car is parked... or at driving speeds? Do they stop shaking? Is it the lights flickering... or the housing moving? Do they shake when you hit bumps?

And, welcome to the family!

·
DC PIT CREW BOSS
39,550 Posts
Welcome 86insc

·
Official Forklift Driver
7,068 Posts

When my 87 was stock w/ the stock thermostat my coolant would get up to 228-230. The main cooling fan is programmed to turn on at 228. The oil temps were usually within 10 degrees of that.

I've never heard of the headlights shaking. :surprised

·