Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Most of what we know is summarized in the table below**

I was wondering what are the "educated guesses" about the horse power of future corvettes. Anyone up to the challenge of filling in the question marks? In 2012 (god permitting) we can always revisit this thread to check who made the most accurate estimates!

** any mistakes you notice I will be glad to fix. I am by no means a corvette expert.

·
DC Crew
53,220 Posts
If I had to guess I'd say 440 HP C7 coupe/vert. And, maybe a 535 HP C7 Z06 tops. But, the car will be a few hundred pounts lighter... so I think we need to look at power/weight ratio now versus getting stuck on HP/TQ numbers.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
If I had to guess I'd say 440 HP C7 coupe/vert. And, maybe a 535 HP C7 Z06 tops. But, the car will be a few hundred pounts lighter... so I think we need to look at power/weight ratio now versus getting stuck on HP/TQ numbers.
Wow, you really think the z06 will undergo such a drastic weight loss program for its C7 debut? I wonder what else can the engineers really cut off, without using too expensive exotic materials. Your hp estimates are reallistic (maybe on the conservative side I hope!).

·
Premium Member
17,444 Posts
I wonder what else can the engineers really cut off, without using too expensive exotic materials.
I think Pat is pretty close, and you hit the nail on the head, expensive exotic materials, will put the Z06 out of reach for the average buyer.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Including the input from patric an "educated guess" about future hp looks something like this:

I wonder if they increase the z06's hp/tq numbers for the 2009 & 2010 model years.

·
Formerly DOC7000
4,513 Posts