Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone ,I'm new to Digitalcorvettes and Corvette cars ,I bought my Corvette a month ago after 10 years of riding Harleys and am not regretting the change one bit. I've spent all my spare time going through the car and learning as much as i can .Its a 79 auto,was imported into UK in 89 and has had just three owners since arriving, it has all its history and reciepts etc from 89 till now.
My question I hope someone can help with with is regarding the engine as it doesn't appear to be the original one ,i believe after looking on lots of sites today is its out of a 1980 350 van.
The car now has an Idelbrock carb,inlet manifold ,headers and dual pipes all fitted in the 1990's and runs as sweet as a nut,would it be correct to assume that the chances are at some time just the block would have been changed .leaving the bottom end and heads original and therefore keeping the performance as it was and is there any way of telling if this is the case .

The Vin is 1Z89895450926
Engine numbers are K0430UFC . CG1195174
The car is red with Ivory leather so that matches the VIN but i could do with some help on what i could expect from the engine.The details i have found from the internet is this .
UFC 1980 350 van, bus, a/t, Cal M LT9 165 4 C-30 & 3500.
I have read in some places the block could be inferior to a corvette block,the car had 60000 miles when imported in 1989 and now shows 82000 miles and runs very strong, has no strange unexpected noises from the engine ,in fact the engine is very quiet on tickover and has no smoke on start up or while running.Any guidance on this would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
339 Posts