Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have a strange issue with my horn. It tends to go off on it's own - just starts blowing non-stop. The only way I have found to stop it is to extend the telescope steering column.

I pulled the button and removed the contact rings and when I push the telescope column back in, at about the 1/2 way point the horn starts again. Extend back out and it stops!

I'm thinking I may have to pull the steering wheel and potentially more, but not being a technical expert, I'm a little unsure about doing this with a T/T steering system. From what I've read, this is better left to the experts.

Any ideas if that's the route to go or other suggestions? Anyone else ever experienced this phenomenon??

Driving around with the steering column extended is a little uncomfortable :down:

·
Registered
2,948 Posts
I had this same problem in one of my '77 Vettes with the T ? column.

I don't recall what part was broken but I had to have a shop rebuild my column, and there were several cracked pieces inside that had to be replaced.

Basically the cracks are allowing the ground to be made when they flex, and the horn sounds.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
<snip>
I don't recall what part was broken but I had to have a shop rebuild my column, and there were several cracked pieces inside that had to be replaced.<snip>
:surprised

Perhaps I disconnet the factory horn and get a bicycle horn intstead....

Ugh.

·
Registered
1,137 Posts
The contact is grounding on its own. Pull the horn button and take a look.

:thumbsup:
Yeah, you don't have to get very far into the column to get at the piece(s) that are causing your horn to go off at random.

The horn button just pulls off, although a little rust could make it slightly more difficult, just pry slowly.