Forged steel crank new
HP rods New
Balanced
9.5 Speed Pro Pistons
64 cc Edelbrock RPM Heads
Headers
65K Volt HEI
Double roller timing chain
Weiand xcelerator intake ( i think it sucks )
Holley 4777 650 Double Pumper with electric choke
Comp Cams 270 xe
Alum Roller rockers Comp Cam

Has power lots of it, I have been talking to several Small Block friends (i have NO experience with chevy performance) I have been told the set up should be 380-400hp but the intake and maybe carb is holding back much more torque and mid range hp maybe some top end.

I have been told the weian xcelerator is OLD SCHOOL and VERY OLD tech and the performer RPM and a 670 or 770 Holley Vac secondary will make the power band and toque much more useable..

1. Whats you guess on current HP given the parts

2. Whats your opinion of the performer RPM intake?

I was thinking of running a drop air cleaner or the edelbrock lynx.

Thanks in advance fellas

·
Registered
1,197 Posts
The Performer RPM is generally understood to be about good as it gets for a dual-plane intake, perfect for your application. No way that carb. is holding back that engine. A bigger carb. would actually lose a little torque down low and in mid-range. Your horsepower you listed sounds about right. I hope you have a good 2-1/2 inch exhaust and free-flowing mufflers.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Its a mechanical secondary 650 on an open plenum intake, it. My upgrade will be performer rpm intake and after talking to Holley, edelbrock and the engine builder they say an 670 or 770 street avenger would be perfect for my daily driving chores and highspeed runs up the dallas north tollway. LOL

Super chevy sunday is next weekend. I think I may be able to get a small discount on the purchase of the intake at the races.

So whats your thoughts on the HP rating?

·
Registered
1,845 Posts