Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well after working inside the car for a while trying to fix up the interior and get the car up to par I started to think about performance. I have looked through many threads asking the same question but i'm no mechanic by any standards, and i'm learning as I go along while using my service manuals religiously. I have a friend whose a mechanic who will be helping me with the engine and performance aspects though. So my car supposedly had/has a l48, but when looking at the numbers on the engine, it looks like it isn't a corvette engine. The engine id pad is really hard to read so I can't completely identify it, but it runs good, supposedly has about 120k miles and doesn't leak anything and has an auto tranny. I was told that the engine and trans were rebuilt about a year ago. So my first mod was going to be exhaust. Aside from a new exhaust, what would be the next best things to do to net me some horses, despite replacing cylinder heads or anything like that. What carb? intake? cam?

I don't want to build a race car, but I want to get a little more pep. Thanks for your help guys

·
Registered
607 Posts
How many $$ do you want to spend?

I'd probably think about Headers, cam and head shave to up the compression!

anyone know the comp. ratio of a L48?

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I think that i'm going to do things in stages, but i'd like to know what things to do and which ones would be best.

What headers would you suggest? and cam?

·
Registered
607 Posts
If money is tight there is a lot too be said for just cleaning up the original rams horn headers, cleaning up casting marks on the inside. otherwise reputable brand headers....as for cam depends on what use the car will see!
I'd go for a good low to mid range performer.....get in contact with a cam manufacturer and they'll find one to suit you.