Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I've finally aqquired some cash, a carb, a gasket, oh... and a 69 Vert... so I'm ready to try to get this beast to start up. My problem is that I haven't a clue as to how to install my carb. I've looked all over these forums, and the WWW to try to find an "Idiot's Guide" to installing a carb. I've even been to the bookstore. I find the same thing over and over again "When swapping one carb for another, be sure to label your hoses etc so they're easier to reinstall." All fine and dandy, but I'm not the one who took the old carb off! :) And he lives in Mass.

I'm hoping some member here can give me an total newbies guide to installing a carb for a 1969 300/350 engine. I have a Holley Spreadbore that's going on an Edelbrock intake (pics below).

I've got tomorrow and Weds. off so I'd like to take both days to drain and replace fluid, install the carb, buy a new battery, add some gas and see what happens when I turn the key.

I appreciate any help you all can give! :) Guides using my pics would be AMAZING if you all could provide.

Thanks,
Ruin

Carb on the right:

Intake Pic

Various Engine Images

More pics here.

·
DC Crew
32,974 Posts
So what part do you not understand? Do you have the bolt it down and put the fuel line on it part handled? I'm not trying to be a smart ass here but how far can you go without help? As far as running it you should be able to bolt the carb on hook up the fuel line and plug the vacuum lines and run the car. That won't be a good driving setup but at least it will run.

·
Registered
125 Posts