Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Guys,
I just bought a 1967 L71 coupe and before putting the original engine back in it I thought I better put in some new valve seats to help deal with the low octane gas we have in California. Before doing so I thought I might lighten up the engine by putting on a set of L89 aluminum heads. New to this I don't know if they are avalible in the aftermarket stores or would I have to buy a set of used ones because they are not made anymore. Moreover, Do the heads offer any advantage/disadvantages over the stock heads other than less weight (I read about 60 lbs per head less).

Thanks,
Scott

·
DC PIT CREW BOSS
39,518 Posts
Anyone have any idea?

·
Registered
512 Posts
I am no expert on this but I considered L-89 heads for my engine. From the specs I think L-71 and L-89 are virtually identical. The weight savings I think is more like 40 lbs per head less. The only other advantage I can think of is that the aluminum head may be a little more pump gas friendly.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am no expert on this but I considered L-89 heads for my engine. From the specs I think L-71 and L-89 are virtually identical. The weight savings I think is more like 40 lbs per head less. The only other advantage I can think of is that the aluminum head may be a little more pump gas friendly.