Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What brand of long tube headers will give me the most horsepower increase for my money. I have the LS2 engine in my 2005 Coupe with the 4 speed A/T
I have the Borla Stinger exhaust and the Halltech CAI.
I'd like to have a realistic 450 HP. How can I achieve that HP rating without changing heads and cams.
Thanks for any suggestions.

Doc:D

·
Registered
388 Posts
This type of question usually turns into quite a discussion :spanked: I'm not an expert but it seems that all give similar performance numbers, at least on the dyno. I went with Kooks only because a certain vendor was having a group purchase deal on them at the time. As far as performance, I gained up to .3 and 3 mph in the 1/8th from my 1 3/4" Kooks headers. I'm still extremely happy with those gains.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Do either of you remenber how difficult the installation was? What about the cost for labor?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
A stock LS2 can produce around 450 crank hp with LT headers, metal matrix cats, full exhaust, air bridge/filter, and dyno tune. A mild cam would definately put you over that mark and is really not that extreme of a mod. LG, Kooks, Dynamaxx, and others make very good headers. Just make sure to install long tube headers and not shortys, and also to get a good dyno tune with reduced torque management. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
451 Posts
What brand of long tube headers will give me the most horsepower increase for my money. I have the LS2 engine in my 2005 Coupe with the 4 speed A/T
I have the Borla Stinger exhaust and the Halltech CAI.
I'd like to have a realistic 450 HP. How can I achieve that HP rating without changing heads and cams.
Thanks for any suggestions.

Doc:D
American Racing Headers (ARH) !

·
Premium Member
3,766 Posts
What cam and kit would you suggest, keeping the stock torque converter?:partyon: