Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I just got my 04 C5 2 weeks ago and love her.
She is all stock now, but I have been reading about some bolt on mods I would like to do. (on a budget)

Tell me what you think of this.
1. C5 stinger cold air intake.
2. Larger throttle body ...size? (suggestions)
3. Maybe new MAF if needed. (suggestions)

Also has anyone used a throttle body bypass kit and what do you think of it?

Like I said I am new to all this, but freaking excited to mod.

·
Registered
1,341 Posts
I have the Stinger and love it. It takes about 15minutes to install. Probably like 45min for you like it did me. A new Maf probably will hurt more than help. Really not needed to change. More will contest to that. A larger throttlebody wont due much good now, but after you've modded a lot it will. The first things I would do are the CAI, Headers, CAtback. You are looking at some good power gains through that. The catback will mainly be for sound. I went with the Halltech Stinger and the B&B Bullets Catback(It is REAL loud). I should be ordering my LG Longtube headers Pro series next week with my cam package, UD pulley, LS2 Oil pump, LS2 timing chain, and tunnel brace. What transmission do you have? A4 or M6? Can we get anymore details on your car.

By the way I did the throttle body bypass mod. No noticeable difference and it took 5minutes to do. It can't hurt unless you hook the wrong hoses together. One guy did that, but got lucky that he didn't hydrolock his engine.

Welcome and have some fun with it man.

Josh

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Mod Help

Thanks Josh,

I thought that the Stinger and exhaust would probably be first, but wasn't sure and did not have the money for exhaust until I got some side
work yesterday.

Not too sure about the catback, I want it loud, but not too loud.
It seems that there are a ton of options in this area.