Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Corvette black over black
230 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been driving Corvettes for 25 years and each generation keeps getting better and better. A year ago I got caught up in the hype of the mid-engine Corvette and put down a deposit at a dealer, with courtesy delivery to Delillo, and for the record I was treated extremely well by Delillo. I was kind of lukewarm on the C8 styling when it was revealed but in person the car is striking, it doesn't look like a corvette at all, it looks like an italian supercar, there is literally no bad angle on this car. Is it still a Corvette? The honking big engine is no longer in front of you, it's behind you. The hood is stubby. The rear flanks are wide. Sitting inside the car feels like sitting in a Lexus, quiet, refined, surrounded by leather and textured surfaces that overlap each other in architectural flourishes. The IP is in your face, much closer to you than the C7. The camera rear view mirror is startling at first, but you get \used to it quickly. The square steering wheel that looks so comical in pictures is actually quite comfortable and gives you a better view of the instrumentation. The flying buttress that divides the compartment is very prominent but not overly so, it's quite dramatic in the dark, when all the buttons are illuminated. The seats are astonishing, they recline so far and move so far back that in the rearmost position, my long legs can't reach the pedals. Are you sure this is a Corvette? The trunk space and frunk space are more than enough storage for your weekend stuff, grocery shopping, etc, are you sure this is a mid-engine car? The car's rear end looks gigantic in pictures but it's actually not that large, compared side-by-side with my C7 the car's dimensions appear to be pretty much the same. I was concerned about interior space but it's about the same as the C7, and the loss of the re