Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok!

I am sure this has been asked in the past, but here goes!

What clearances should I be looking for on my crank and rods?
I am using a stock crank and stock rods.

Using a plastigauge, what measurement should I be after?

This is the first time I have attemted something this in depth with a motor.:WTF

I must be nuts to have started this!

Just got everything back from the machine shop and I am ready for assembly.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2,106 Posts
for your first time id suggest getting an OEM manual or a book on rebuilding a 350. You'll need it for all the torque specs and other build parameters.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the haynes book for the car. I am just looking for a little advice using the plastigauge. I have never used one before.

The book has the torque specs, etc. I was just seeing if anybody had some tips on where I should be at.

·
Registered
2,457 Posts
Im to lazy to type but there are many articles on this.

How Plastigauge works with engine bearings

or

HOW TO USE PLASTIGAGE

When checking connecting rod bearings, turn the crankshaft so that the journal to be checked is about 30° from bottom dead center.

Remove the bearing cap and wipe the oil from the bearing insert and crankshaft journal.

Tear off a piece of Plastigage as long as the full bearing width. (Tear through both the envelope and plastic thread at the same time.) Lay the piece of Plastigage across the full width of the lower bearing shell about 1/4" off center.

Install and tighten the bearing cap to the proper torque specifications. Do not rotate the crankshaft while making thischeck.

Remove the bearing cap. The flattened Plastigage will adhere to either the bearing shell or the crankshaft.