Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hiya,

This is my first time posting to the forum. I've been a long time C4 fan (probably ever since watching "Face" drive one on A-Team) and I'm finally thinking about buying one. I'd love to get a '92 or later wth a LT-1 and 6-speed, but I think that the price issue is probably going to keep me in the mid 80s with a 4+3.

Any advice for a first timer? Also, are certain years easier to work on?

Thanks!
:partyon:
Jeff

·
Registered
3,963 Posts
Welcome to DC,The C4 is a great vette. I would try for one that is an '88 or newer. Older than that had issues with wheel offsets ,targa top mount locations and cold start fuel injector issues.I owned a 4+3 and I loved having stick but I was not a real big fan of the 4+3. If you can get the 6-speed that would be your best choice.:buhbye:

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Welcome to DC,The C4 is a great vette. I would try for one that is an '88 or newer. Older than that had issues with wheel offsets ,targa top mount locations and cold start fuel injector issues.I owned a 4+3 and I loved having stick but I was not a real big fan of the 4+3. If you can get the 6-speed that would be your best choice.:buhbye:
Thanks for the advice! I drove a 4+3 a while ago and the car itself was great, but I wasn't a huge fan of the 4+3. It just seemed like an extra-complicated thing to break...

What was wrong with wheel offsets on pre-88s?

Thanks!
Jeff

·
El Teafive
10,489 Posts
The wheel offsets on pre-88s are more for 16" wheels and may require spacers in more cases.

Also 89 was the first year for the 6spd. you will need to decide if you like the older style dash or the newer style.

I have an 89 personally, but swapped to the 90-newer style dash, along with a bunch of other stuff

www.vettextc.net

OH YEAH:
WELCOME to DC

·
DC Crew
9,475 Posts