Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie and glad to have found you guys!
Thinking about solving hot running 79. A new aluminim rad is an option but I am told that replacing the thermostat with an orifice plate may do the trick. Has anyone tried the orifice? If so, does it work? Where can I buy one? What size orifice opening,etc?
Thank you for any info you have.:buhbye:

·
Registered
749 Posts
welcome to DC

first, is the car stock? doing mods to an engine will increase the heat, therefore, you will have to work on the pump, radiator, etc..

anyways, go with a stewart HI-FLOW pump for that year and engine. also, use a stewart HI-FLOW thermostat to suit. i think a 180 would be fine.

be sure your fan clutch is working right. warm the engine to normal temps, then shut off. turn the blades by hand..if they move freely then the clutch is no good.

be sure your fan shroud is in place and seated right. also, be sure that the foam inserts around the radiator are in place. add more foam if you see too many gaps. this keeps the air going thru the radiator and not around it.

be sure the radiator is clean inside and out. if you see alot of buildup inside, you can try using a flush to clean it out, or have it done professionally.

if you have a/c be sure the condensor is clear and that air flows freely thru it.

be sure your timing is right.

check your anti-freeze mixture. if adding new, add distilled water with a 50/50 mix...not more. nothing cools better than water.

be sure the radiator cap is good...15 lbs should be fine.

the stewart home page shows their pumps that are available and thermostats. they also have an excellent FAQ page that will answer many questions about an engine running hot.

www.stewartcomponents.com