Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This doesn't affect very many here but I thought I would post it anyway.
I have been running a stud girdle on my motors for the last 20 years. I thought it was a good idea at the time but now I wonder.
I run 200 pound springs on the seat and 550 pounds open.
I spent the weekend setting the valve, I am running out of work, the 540 is just about ready to fire. The car other then plugs and timing is done.
I set the valves very carefully, recheck 2 more times and then install the stud girdle. I then recheck very valve 2 more times and found a number of clearances very carefully set before are suddenly way off. It can tighten , and I found they tightened rather then loosened. They tightened up to .010.
I spent an entire day reworking the stud support one hole at a time. Using feeler gages and eyeballing I would modify one support, reinstall, check clearance with the girdle tightened down and move on to the next.
Is a girdle really necessary? If not custom fit do they do more harm then good? I don't know but it is done now and with everything snugged up the clearances set before remain the same after installing the girdle.
This is an old old shot. Not my new 540

·
Registered
3,100 Posts
My opinion is somewhere in the worthless range, but I can't see using a stud girdle unless you're breaking parts. I'm running the ZL-1 factory cam, 7/16 studs and 7/16 pushrods, factory long slot rockers and my valve lash rarely changes. I think if you're running a real big time roller cam with quick ramps then maybe. But then I'm not trying to wind it over 7500 either. It will go, but pucker factor takes over.

I suspect what you're seeing is setting the lash, then when you install the girdle it's pulling the rocker studs. If you can get past that you should be good.

:thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
Discussion Starter #3