Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time at this forum, looks good! :D I recognize a lot of names from CAC. :)

Okay, tomorrow I'm going to be doing work on the exaust, and I will need to get the Vette off the ground. I looked in my Service Manual, and it has lifting points for jacks and jackstands. I know this might sound stupid, but by looking at the picture, it seems like you should put the jack/jackstand in that general place. What I mean, is there an exact place to put the jack/jackstand so that I don't bend my frame and mess everything up?

Also, what kind of "lifting sequence" should I do? This is my first time ever jacking up a car off the ground. How will I do it? Do I do: floor jack lift back right side (for example) of the Vette, then get a jackstand there. And then get the floor jack to the back left side and jack it up, and get a stand under there. Is that how it works? What I mean is how do I lift and in what order so I don't bend the frame and so forth?

I just imagine that if you lift the back right side (for example), when the back left side is on the ground, wouldn't you bend the frame up? Or no...?

Like I said, I'm doing this tomorrow morning, so some quick enlightenment on jacking up the Vette would be much appreciated. Thanks! :D

Stallion

·
DC Crew
4,751 Posts
Hey man.

Here is how I do it.

I get a couple of blocks of wood (short pieces of 2x4).

I ease the front of the car up on the blocks. This gives me enough ground clearance to slip the floor jack under the front cross member. I put a small piece of wood on the jack lift pad and raise the front, then catch the frame rails where the manual tells you to support them.

On my car, I have sidepipes...so I just roll it under from the side and catch the center of the rear cross member and lift...then put the jacks in place.