Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 86 Vette, which, of course, did not come with a remote keyless entry. SO, I bought a kit to install it myself.

Now, I reallize that without a degree in electrical engineering, I am way out of my league. I can do the wiring and I am a pretty good mechanic, but I do not understand what the instructions are telling me....I called the company for help, and they referred me to a guy that does not speak English....no help there.

Has anyone done this, or have any suggestions....help and thanks:excited:

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yea, they do, but it is something like $300....it may be the only option....especially with the VATS "stuff"...thanks:cheers:

·
Registered
47 Posts
I put a fairly inexpensive keyless entry system in my 85. It's made by Autopage. Wasn't too tough. You may have to use a relay or two to invert the signals from the receiver.

What part of the instructions are you having probems with?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi Jim

It seems like the whole thing is goofy....I think I don't have enough background to do the job.

I was hoping someone could explain the negative vs. positive triggers, and where to find the wires to tie into in the vette...:surprised

·
DC Crew
53,221 Posts
Re: Hi Jim

zog said:
It seems like the whole thing is goofy....I think I don't have enough background to do the job.

I was hoping someone could explain the negative vs. positive triggers, and where to find the wires to tie into in the vette...:surprised
Yikes. A complicated install and no support from the makers.

You are between a rock and a hard place. Do you have a friend that could be a second set of eyes?

·
Registered
47 Posts
Negative trigger means that the system provides a ground pulse on the output line when the corresponding button on the remote is pressed.