Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK here I set with my Bondurant GPR4 completion certificate in hand, I plan on being in the Kansas City Area from April to October, and the Phoenix Area from November to March.

The question is Which group to join SCCA or NASA???

For now I will be driving a highly modified C3(500 HP), Later I would like to switch to Formula Mazda.

So what are the pros and cons of each group???

·
DC crew
4,102 Posts
I think NASA would be the way to go. There might be more classes to race in. They go by horsepower to weight ratio. Either group is good, becuse you're racing!!! I think you will have more fun with NASA.

Jr.

·
DC crew
4,102 Posts
Here's another thought. Do both. In my case I would go ST2 in NASA and ITE or STO in SCCA. There's a class for you in both.

Jr.

·
Premium Member
10,260 Posts
you know I'm no expert on this stuff Ivan, but from talking to Mike McGinley about the SCCA rules for his class it seems incredibly restrictive. I downloaded some of the NASA rules and it's much more open to modifications. Just start with a base class for the make & model of your car and add or deduct points for weight reduction, engine mods, suspension mods, etc and you end up with your final class.

One thing I'm not sure of is if there's much NASA activity around our area. Seems like most of what I hear about are SCCA events. This might be a good topic to pick Mike's brain on

·
Banned
7,823 Posts
from a corvette to a mazda....how the mighty have fallen....:nuts:

·
DC crew
4,102 Posts