Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in the Great White North where temps are well below freezing. My '93 LT1 is in heated storage until April. This is my first year owning this beauty.

My question....before I start the engine for the first time in the Spring, is there any specific precautions I should take other than the obvious, check fluids, frost plugs, evict varmints etc.

I'd like to crank over the engine for several revolutions to get the oil up to the top of the engine before it starts. Any ideas on how to prevent the engine from starting right away?
Thanks for any suggestions.

B

·
0 Posts
I dont know what you are exactly worried about. Your motor will not become damaged if it cranks over and fires right away. There will still be oil covering your moving parts no matter how long they sit there. Especially if you are storing the car in a heated area. Yes most of the oil will be in the pan, but it will all be moving within a matter of the first few minutes of start up. The only thing you wouldnt want to do is fire it up and then start over revving/racing the motor. Just let it warm up and take her for a nice drive. You should make sure that the first ride lasts for a little while to burn off all of the condensation and deposits that may have formed during storage. Get the motor nice and hot.

·
Registered
6,158 Posts
BIG LAW MAN said: