Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this has been asked before, but what is a good set of non-runflats out there for the C6 vette. Also what is the expected life from a set of the stock run-flats. They are not the Z51 tires.

thanks-pat-

·
Registered
109 Posts
Asking what tread life you'll get is like asking what MPG you'll get. Many, many variables. I have the Z-51 option with supercar tires. I have 11,400 miles on mine, and from the looks of the tread, I expect I'll get well over 20,000 miles. Wouldn't be surprised if I make 25,000-30,000.That's not too bad for the soft compound supercar tires.

Why? I monitor the tire pressure consistently, and adjust it up or down depending on weather changes so I keep it as close to specs for cold tires as possible. I don't abuse the tires-no burnouts, no hard cornering. Some might think I am a wuss driver, but I'm not. I just treat them well.

When I see drivers here saying they have replaced tires three times in 25,000 miles, the only thing I am sure of is I would NEVER want to buy their Vette used!!:rolleyes:

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am the exact opposite. Its a vette. You spend all the money on it to be fast, handle turns fast, and haul ass. If i was going to just hump around town all slow id just drive my truck. Every time i take the vette out i scare myself a bit. The way i look at it is even if i got only 60K miles out of the car, but had a hell of a time doin it everytime itd be more worth it to me than getting 150K out of it but babying the hell out of it. If it breaks ill fix it. If somethin wears out, ill replace it, but im goin drive it like i stole it every time and have a a hell of a time doin it. :thumbsup: but anyways what are some good non-runflat tires out there. I think i remember people talkin about the michelin's?

·
Registered
1,652 Posts