Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Have a 75 convertable and when it rains water drips behind the kick panels. I check the windshield frame and there are no rust holes. Does anyone know where the rain water could be coming from? Any help would be great, it's driving me nuts looking.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Check behind the seats. There is a rubber drain hose that runs from the vents on the rear deck through the car then outside to the upper part of the wheel well. They become plugged with debris rot and eventually leak. I've replaced them on both of the C3s I've owned.

V

·
Registered
265 Posts
Water leaks are not always easy to find. Water’s sneaky and will take the path of least resistance.
I have a lot of experience with air and water leak repair over the years.
I'll give you a quick run down to start diagnosing water leaks.
Remove panels/trim/carpet in the affected areas, run a stream of water all over the upper area of the car starting with roof on down. Saturate good. Remove nozzles on hose, use the naked end. Concentrate on gaps, seams and weatherstripped areas. Watch for drips and streams running inside.
It's easier with 2 people, one watering outside, one looking inside.
Water will sometimes take strange paths, not always the one you may imagine. The point of intrusion and area of gathering can be a surprising distance apart! And multiple entry points can be common. T-tops and convert tops are notorious for leaks.
Likely areas are weatherstrip crushes, tears, mounting and adhesion lifting. Along with any seams or joining points. Old cars like ours can have cracked/deteriorated body seam & glass caulking as well.
This could take you underhood to any firewall penetrations. HVAC case seals/seams, grommets, electrical connector passages, etc…