Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
655 Posts
I have the complete Wilwood big brake kit. Over 15K miles and they look like new. No rust whatsoever. I would sugggest you consider the two piece for the rear as well. Good Luck:thumbsup:

·
...twisting your mind and smashing your dreams.
9,388 Posts
I have no personal experience with the Willwoods so I certainly can't say not to go with those, but I've got the Baer eradispeeds on my Z, 2pc frt and 1 pc rear, did them along with the new wheels/tires. I'd buy Baer again for sure. But I agree with the above, go for two pc rears as well, I'm going to upgrade the rears to 2pc myself:thumbsup:

·
Registered
655 Posts
Keep in mind, if you go with a big brake kit Like Wilwood, Baer or AP Racing you will not be able to fit rims with a deep lip as there will be clearance problems. Just something to consider.

·
...twisting your mind and smashing your dreams.
9,388 Posts
Thanks sheriffd2 and mattvette for the info.
But why should i go with the 2 pc rotors in the back? any reson for that :huh:

Even if you go with larger rotors in the back the break caliper is still small !!

I am planning to run them on my stock Calipers :lookinup:
even though the caliper size does not increase, the design of the two piece rotor allows better cooling and less weight, and if you go for a larger rotor size (say a +1), the increase in surface area allows for even better cooling. Also, looks-wise would compliment the aesthetic of the fronts:thumbsup:

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If you take a look at the rear 2pc rotors, the break pads are not covering the hall rotor !

and i just figured out that even in 1pc rotor its the same thing if you take a close look at you rear rotor, or is that just normal :lookinup:

2pc rotors will look nice if you are running 19" or 20" rear wheels :thumbsup:

Thanks sheriffd2 for the information :thumbsup:

·
Registered
655 Posts