Corvette Forum : DigitalCorvettes.com Corvette Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm Matt and I'm new here. I made a thread in the 'Intro and Greets' section. I recently bought my dream car - a chrome bumper big block Corvette. It's a great car, but I want to fix a few things up on it.

My wipers and vacuum system work well. Excellently in fact. However, the washers do not work. I've looked under the hood, and the washer pump has been attacked by Bubba. It has no cover, springs are missing, etc. I think I'll just buy a new one, although this is harder for me in that I live in Australia!

I've done some searching, but I haven't come up with the answer to this. It's a total noob question, but here goes. On a '71 Corvette, if the wipers are off (switch over to far left), and I push the Washer button, what should happen?

Should the wiper panel pop open, the wipers cycle and the washers work for a few cycles, then the panel pops closed? Or do the washers only work if the wipers are in 'Lo' or 'Hi' speed already?

Cheers and regards,
Matt.

·
Registered
607 Posts
Hi Matt,

Welcome to the forum and congrats on the new Vette.

I cant really answer your question as my car doesn't have the wiper door and my washers don't work anyway:down:

But heres a friendly bump to the top:thumbsup:

Liam.

·
Registered
2,002 Posts
...On a '71 Corvette, if the wipers are off (switch over to far left), and I push the Washer button, what should happen?...Should the wiper panel pop open, the wipers cycle and the washers work for a few cycles, then the panel pops closed?...
I believe that is correct. Do you have an owner's manual? If memory serves, washer function is explained in my 68 owner's manual and I would assume 71 would be the same.